Bonnie Glover’s Spring 08 – Reading List

Reading list suggestions from Bonnie Glover, visit her main website for more at www.BonnieGlover.com

Spring Has Sprung Again Readings

Below are some of the works that I have enjoyed reading, both recently and in the past. I hope you have time to explore them.

  • Piece of Cake by Cupcake Brown
  • Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
  • Pink Slip by Rita Ciresi
  • Other: new reqading, Old favorites, etc..

Autobiography: A Piece of Cake

A Piece of Cake

This is the first book that I’ve reviewed for my new website and I’m still thinking about how this book has impacted me and what I believe. I don’t think I’ll ever walk by someone on the street again and think that I know their story. Story line – betrayal of children by the system and by a biological father turns into a long stretch of drug addiction, prostitution and alcoholism for his daughter. This book
is a memoir, not fiction and not for the faint of heart. Read – Bonnie’s Book Review of Piece of Cake

As soon as I finish THE AMBER SPYGLASS, I intend to read A PIECE OF CAKE BY Cupcake Brown. I saw her talk on some television shows and she is a fascinating woman. As a child her mother sold her to someone for a drug fix and her life was traumatic, now she is a successful attorney.

Other to-reads – THE BEAUTIFUL THINGS THAT HEAVEN BEARS by Dinwaw Mengestu and A FREE LIFE by Ha Jin.

Note: Ha Jin is one of my favorite authors too. English is not his native language yet he continues to amaze me with his style. He has won the National Book Award and various other awards for his skillful and incisive writing.


Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

Water For Elephants

I enjoyed reading about this journey to adulthood for Jacob Jankowski. The story revolves around a young man forced on the road after his parents are killed in a car accident. He joins the circus and luckily has skills that are needed. Interesting story with a few twists. What I like most about this book though are not the flashbacks but the part of the tale that is told in the “here and now.” Jacob is telling his story from the vantage point of having grown old. I guess one of the themes is that you shouldn’t grow old in America. No one will love you, no one will care for you, etc. I liked the end very much.


Pink Slip by Rita Ciresi

Pink Slip

Pink Slip


Other Stuff

New Purchases:

  • Orange Mint and Honey by Carleen Brice (an Essence pick for March 2008)
  • Soul on Ice by Eldridge Cleaver
  • What Would Martin Say by Clarence B. Jones

Currently Reading:

  • Tea Rose by Jennifer Donnelly
  • The Secret of the Ages by Robert Collier

Ben Recommends:

  • David Feldman’s Imponderables Books Secrets of Dripping Fang (Series) by Dan Greenburg

Matt Recommends:

  • The Warrior Heir by Cinda Williams
  • Chima Chance Fortune and the Outlaws by Shane Berryhill

Old Favorite:

  • The Ginger Tree by Oswald Wynd

Recommended Reading for Enjoyment


I’ll have more picks soon!

Reading list suggestions from Bonnie Glover, visit her main website for more at www.BonnieGlover.com


~ by notthead on May 3, 2008.

Leave a comment